browsARbook − Searching in books by Augmented Reality

browsARbook was created as part of Adrian Zuerl's master thesis at University of Applied Sciences Augsburg.

Now available for Android!

Android app on Google Play

Presentation of browsARbook at Leipzig book fair


Abstract

It is very time consuming to look up a subject in an utterly unknown book. Time which can be reduced, as far as the subject’s verse is familiar. But even consulting the index or register could be effortful and not result in the desired outcome. Thus research will be halted.
Nevertheless one does not want to spare working with analogue books. Thereby Smartphones can be helpful as an everyday companion. By this time they are that powerful and flexible, so that a mobile application can offer a solution for this problem.

The Thesis at hand examines how full-text search in analogue books can be achieved and therefore how books can be amplified functionally.

In conclusion a way to realize full-text search in analogue books with Augmented Reality is shown on the basis of development and concept of the own app browsARbook (”browse-a-book”).
It’s ease of use is finally reviewed based on usability tests.

Exemplary process flow of browsARbook

Special Focus

browsARbook’s process flow is composed as follows:

  1. Scan the book’s barcode
  2. Search for any desired term by the use of full-text search.
  3. The respective page numbers are displayed.
  4. The subject’s exact positions are displayed on any desired page by Augmented Reality.
Being able to immediately locate the corresponding passage, reading can be commenced instantly.

Furthermore the app features bookmarked terms and pages, a help section and a light function. Full-text search is made possible by the use of an online service. Therefore every book which is searchable by Google Books is supported by browsARbook. This results in following potential: The more books supplied by Google (and by publishers resp.) the more benefit browsARbook gets. Different technical approaches to scan and track the book’s page were concepted and afterwards revised with the use of usability tests.

Exemplary situation: Displaying positions of terms on a page

Exemplary situation: Displaying positions of terms on a page

Result and Future Work

Based on findings of a first usability test problems of the process flow and handling were determined. These concerned especially the app’s feedback to users and browsing a book page. Aquired observations led to redesign details of the app. Furthermore by implementing special automatism browsing a book page was simplified for users. Due to a second usability test it could be shown that user-friendliness was further increased because of preceding adaptions. Thus it was examined that the use of Augmented Reality within the app is not mandatory required to locate a certain subject. Static overlays of word’s positions also quickly satisfy the user’s purpose. All in all the main result: The majority of users accomplished their goal using browsARbook for a speedy result of any desired term in the book and on pages. Nevertheless future work includes optimizing the user’s comfort in controling the app and further search functions. In addition conceptual proposals are made for bringing browsARbook to future wearable devices like Google Glass.

Setting of usability test

Setting of usability test

browsARbook − Augmented Reality zur Suche in Büchern

browsARbook entstand im Rahmen der Master Thesis von Adrian Zürl an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften Augsburg.

Jetzt verfüg­bar als Android App!

Android app on Google Play

Präsentation von browsARbook auf der Leipziger Buchmesse


Kurzfassung

Es ist sehr zeitaufwändig, ein Thema in einem gänzlich unbekannten Buch nachzuschlagen. Zeit, die reduziert werden kann, sofern der Abschnitt des Themas bekannt ist. Aber selbst das Nachschlagen im Inhaltsverzeichnis oder Glossar/Register kann anstrengend sein und nicht zum erwünschten Ergebnis führen. Dadurch wird die Recherche unnötigerweise ausgebremst.
Dennoch möchte man nicht auf die Arbeit mit analogen Büchern verzichen. Smartphones können dabei als ein alltäglicher Begleiter helfen. Diese sind heutzutage derart leistungsstark und flexibel, sodass eine mobile Anwendung eine Antwort zur Lösung dieses Problems bieten kann.

Die entstandene Thesis zeigt einen Weg auf, wie Volltextsuche in analogen Büchern ermöglicht und Bücher dadurch funktional erweitert werden können.

Dies geschieht mit Hilfe des Konzepts und Entwicklung der eigenen Augmented Reality App browsARbook (”browse-a-book”).
Dessen Benutzerfreundlichkeit wird abschließend anhand von Usability Tests aufgezeigt.

Beispielhafter Prozess zur Suche in Büchern

Das besondere an browsARbook

Der Arbeitsfluss von browsARbook:

  1. Barcode des Buches scannen
  2. Die Eingabe eines gewünschten Begriffes ist durch eine Volltextsuche möglich.
  3. Die entsprechenden Seitenzahlen werden angezeigt.
  4. Die genauen Wortpositionen des jeweiligen Themas/Begriffes werden auf jeder gewünschten Seite anhand von Augmented Reality Überlagerungen angezeigt.
Durch das sofortige Auffinden der entsprechenden Passage kann sofort mit dem Lesen begonnen werden.

Des Weiteren bietet die App Lesezeichen von Begriffen und Seiten, einen Hilfe-Bereich und eine Lichtfunktion. Die Volltextsuche wird durch das Verwenden des Online Dienstes Google Books ermöglicht. Dadurch wird jedes Buch, das von Google Books durchsucht werden kann, von browsARbook unterstützt. Dies resultiert in folgendem Potential: Je mehr Bücher durch Google (bzw. der Verleger) unterstützt werden, desto höher lässt sich der Nutzen von browsARbook steigern. Zudem wurden verschiedene technische Herangehensweisen zum Erfassen von Buchseiten konzeptioniert und im Anschluss Usability Tests unterzogen.

Exemplary situation: Displaying positions of terms on a page

Beispielsituation: Anzeige von Wortpositionen auf einer Seite

Ergebnisse und Ausblick

Basierend auf den Ergebnissen eines ersten Usability Tests konnten Probleme des Arbeitsablaufes und bei der Bedienung identifiziert werden. Dies betraf insbesondere die Rückmeldung der App an den Benutzer und das Durchsuchen einer Seite. Die erfassten Beobachtungen führten zu einer Überarbeitung von Details der Anwendung. Des Weiteren konnte durch die Implementierung von Automatismen das Durchsuchen einer Seite für den Nutzer vereinfacht werden. Aufgrund eines zweiten Usability Tests konnte gezeigt werden, dass die Benutzerfreundlichkeit sogar noch einmal gesteigert werden konnte. Zudem konnte festgestellt werden, dass die Verwendung von Augmented Reality in der App nicht zwangsläufig notwendig ist, um bestimmte Wörter auf einer Seite ausfindig zu machen. Statische Überlagerungen der Wortpositionen reichten den meisten Nutzern bereits aus, um ihr Ziel zu erfüllen. Das Hauptresultat in Kürze: Die Mehrheit der Nutzer konnte das Ziel mit Hilfe von browsARbook erreichen, einen gewünschten Suchbegriff im Buch und auf einzelnen Seiten schnell zu finden. Der Ausblick besteht aus der Optimierung der Bedienung der App und weiterer Suchfunktionen. Zudem werden konzeptionelle Ansätze aufgezeigt, wie browsARbook auf zukünftigen Wearables wie der Google Glass aussehen könnte.

Setting of usability test

Aufbau des Usability Tests